Coaches and Players of the Year!

Peter Solomon, head coach of our Wesleyan swimming and diving teams, was recently named Co-Coach-of-the-Year for women’s swimming by the our athletic conference. In giving Peter this honor, NESCAC recognizes his leadership and team building. Peter is a mentor to our students, and an inspiration to our swimmers.

Chris Potter was named Coach-of-the-Year for our men’s hockey team. Chris established a new conference record for longest unbeaten streak (13-0-2) during the regular season, and the guys continue their season in the NESCAC semi-finals next weekend. Speaking of men’s hockey, Tim Sestak ’20 was named Player-of-the-Year by the conference for his outstanding play throughout the winter. His uncanny ability to keep the puck out of the goal has been crucial for the Cardinals. In women’s hockey, Allegra Grant ’20 was named to the first NESCAC team this year, as was Walker Harris ’20 on the men’s side.

Spring sports will be here before you know it, but for now let’s give a cheer for these NESCAC honorees!!


Coach Solomon reports:

Wesleyan has 6 women (see below) competing in the Div. III NCAA Championships March 20th – 23rd in Greensboro, NC.  Caroline Murphy is seeded 2nd in the 100-yard Backstroke.  Here is a video of one of the races (400-yard Medley Relay) from our recent NESCAC Championships that Michael may enjoy.  Caroline Murphy is swimming the 1st leg of the relay (backstroke), Mengmeng Gibbs (breaststroke), Grace Middleton (butterfly), & Hannah O’Halloran (freestyle). Hannah is also swimming the 200 backstroke at the NCAAs.

Wesleyan’s relay is in Lane 2 (closest to the camera). The time (3:48.07) was a Varsity Record by 1.4 seconds, 2nd at the Conference Championships, and presently ranked 10th in the country for Div. III.

And this reminds me that Zach Murillo ’19 is off to the NCAA wrestling championship in 125 pound weight class. You can read more about him here.

UPDATE 2 Don’t forget about basketball

Congratulations to Jordan Bonner ’19, Austin Hutcherson ’21 and Caleigh Ryan ’22 for earning NESCAC honors today.  Bonner was named NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, Hutcherson was named first team all-conference and Caleigh Ryan was recognized as the NESCAC Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year.